• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Why cant I find a high grade GI Joe 21??

191 posts in this topic

Hello...this is my first post and Im new to this so go easy on me! Ive been collecting comics for 20 years now and Im just getting back into it with full force. Im trying to complete my NM/Mint 1-30 set of 80s Joes and I cant seem to find a NM copy of #21 anywhere! Is this issue that hard to find or am I just looking in the wrong places? I bought a few NM (cough) copies from e-bay that looked like and nobody seems to sell any CGC graded copies. My other question is ...If they grade a copy of Hulk 181 in a 9.9 thats 28 years old then how come there arent any mere 9.8s of Joe 21 graded yet? Thanks for listening...... D-

I think Hulk 181 is just a much more obvious book to get graded... you can't lose on encapsulating a higher grade Hulk 181 - even if you only get a 9.0 on a book you thought was a 9.4, the slabbing will have paid off because you can sell that 9.0 for $800 or whatever the going rate is right now, which is more than you could get for the book raw. On the other hand, your Joe 21 has to be really high grade to be worth your while. Consider that a total of 988 copies of Hulk 181 have been graded vs only 47 for Joe 21. Trust me, if 988 copies of Joe 21 had been graded, there would be a 9.9 in there somewhere.

I don't really think #21 is materially scarcer than the other issues. It's just in demand right now so it's tough to find one to buy. Guys like Rickdogg (a poster on this forum) are salivating over their keyboards looking for nice copies. But they are out there - my buddy bought a NM/NM+ copy for 25c in a cheapie bin a year ago.

Cheers.