Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

When you are unhappy with the commission, what do you do?

8 posts in this topic

I'm very new to dealing with any kind of original art, but I have picked up a few pieces and had some (mostly very inexpensive) commissions done. I am usually satisfied that I the quality was what I was expecting. Until recently, the only surprises have been occasionally getting even better work than anticipated.

The commission I contracted for at SDCC is now the lone exception. We talked about the work and seemed to understand each other pretty well - it went from a simple sketch to a full 11x17 illustration he planned to finish after the con. However, when I saw the finished piece I was underwhelmed. I said thank you and paid the other half that was due and plan on moving on.

What experiences have you had and how have you handled them?

All I can say is I've had the same experience and did nothing.

Unfortunately, the risk of a bad commission is ever present, and I sort of consider it as part of the pricing, and that's why my limit for commissions/sketches is something I can afford to lose. Which as I've said has happened to me but I just move on.

Malvin

I think a lot of people encounter what you're discussing, but of course few actually voice their disappointment, and in truth, with some artists, underwhelming feelings may be due to a lack of effort, for others it's due to a lack of living up to expectations or perception. The former is the biggest shame, whereas the later, can't really be controlled other than if you almost become an art director to the commission.

I've had many artists fall alseep at the wheel and produce mediocre (to both their standards and my expectations - as well as to the value of what I paid) artwork.

I've talked to many artists, and some love getting art direction, providing prelims and layouts of positions/poses and really working closely with the collector.