• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Spine Stress Marks, Rolled Spine, and other “definitions”...

9 posts in this topic

Hello all

I’ve recently begun collecting comics again, and I’ve happily re-discovered the fun and enjoyment this hobby provides. I’ve also decided to have a few of my modern books graded (I’ve never done this before) and I have a couple of questions.

I’ve read, at other sites, about “spine stress marks” and “rolled spine.” I’m not 100% sure what, exactly, those terms are referring to. To me, spine stress would be the whitening of the spine from, say, being rubbed against the bag too much. A rolled spine would be creases or bends in the spine from the book being rolled from top to bottom or from being bent lengthwise.

Are those “definitions” correct? Are there any good guides that map-out the terminology and show examples, etc?

Any input would be much appreciated,

Maury

RAILhead Design

Spine stress marks are small horizontal cracks just to the right of the spine. Usually caused by handling comics in the old "spinner" racks that were used at the time. Customers would grab the top of the comic and "bend" it towards them to see what was underneath, thereby creating a "stress crack".

The whitening along the spine you speak of would be more accurtately described as minor wear to the finish usually caused by either handling or rubbing with another comic NOT rubbing from being in a comic bag.