• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Total Noob question around variants...

8 posts in this topic

16 minutes ago, JLam1127 said:

I should know this, but I don't.... when I see 1:100 what does that mean?  I recently saw one that was 1:2000 for a variant, and am curious because of the price they were asking for the book.....THANKS!

Newb as well! AFAIK when you 1:100 or 1:2000 you are talking about a retailer variant. So 1:100 means for every 100 "regular" copies of the book a retailer orders, they can then order one (1) variant.

Lots of great information available from the community here.

3 hours ago, Jimbo749 said:

Newb as well! AFAIK when you 1:100 or 1:2000 you are talking about a retailer variant. So 1:100 means for every 100 "regular" copies of the book a retailer orders, they can then order one (1) variant.

Lots of great information available from the community here.

That's ALOT of comics to order......

Someone please correct me if I am wrong but from my understanding a 1:100 means the retailer had to order 100 regular covers to get the 1 in 100 variant. A 1:2000 would mean they needed to order 2,000 copies of the regular cover to get 1 of the 1:2000?

On ‎10‎/‎20‎/‎2017 at 8:08 PM, Exhero said:

Someone please correct me if I am wrong but from my understanding a 1:100 means the retailer had to order 100 regular covers to get the 1 in 100 variant. A 1:2000 would mean they needed to order 2,000 copies of the regular cover to get 1 of the 1:2000?

You are correct.

The 1:2000 variants are priced ridiculous because:

1) People pay the price

2) Many dealers will have to move the other 2000 copies at cover price or below so they will need to make up for the lost profit on those

1 hour ago, FN-2199 said:

You are correct.