• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

How do you determine "significant" spinal wear?

11 posts in this topic

I just purchased Infinity Gauntlet 1-6 on eBay and having received them today, I am afraid I may have been misinformed as to the condition of the comics. The seller description claimed that these comics were "near mint," and as "close to mint" as possible, considering the age of the comics. I wasn't under the impression that these would be in pristine, mint condition, but the spinal wear on about half of the comics is considerable, i.e. it is noticeable at first glance, and although I am not a professional grader, I would consider this to be significant. So my question is, what would "significant" or "considerable" spinal wear amount to in your opinions for comics of this age, and how detrimental might this be with regard to the value of these comics? Thank you in advance for your insights.

Pictures/scans of the comics would be helpful... also a link to the completed auction.

In general, I would expect any comic advertised as a NM to have negligible spine wear. Maybe 1 to 3 noticeable, small spine ticks at most given that the rest of the book (corners, cover gloss, interior, etc.) are without many (if any)flaws as well. 

There are a few pictures of issue 1 and 6 as you requested. As you can see, issue 1 has considerably more wear on the spine than issue 6. These two had the most wear, and although the rest of the comic seems to be in great shape, these are the issues that led me to seek your input. Thank you again for your knowledge, time, and insight. 

3 hours ago, DeraconGouny said:

I don't believe you got what you paid for. These are not Near Mint. Get your money back. Sorry.