• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

How much does writing on the cover affect grading?
1 1

12 posts in this topic

As a newbie here, I searched to see if this question had been answered already, but couldn't find anything, (though there is a similar question posed recently by @MareB). So apologies in advance if it has been covered before.

I was able to find some scarce titles in a "flea market", but the problem is that they have the price written on them, like this one:

image.png.836c0dd7499f6178940891f141d03e61.png

They are nice enough for me to have in my collection, but I wonder how much does writing like this reduce the grade? Can anything be done to remove the writing without affecting the cover? Unlike the books recently posted by @MareB the ink has not bled through the cover but appears to be just on the surface.

The book pictured appears to be in the VG+ 4.5 range (may be a VG/FN 5.0 at best), as already stated, the marking will not affect a book in this grade.

The FMV (based on eBay sold auctions) for that book in VG+ 4.5 to VG/FN 5.0 is about $10.00.

IMO, read it, bag and board it, enjoy it as it is.

10 hours ago, Albert Thurgood said:

They are nice enough for me to have in my collection, but I wonder how much does writing like this reduce the grade? Can anything be done to remove the writing without affecting the cover? Unlike the books recently posted by @MareB the ink has not bled through the cover but appears to be just on the surface.

I agree with marvelmaniac on this. Due to the grade of the book, the writing shouldn't affect the grade much at all. It's actually a perfect reading copy and should be enjoyed just the way it is...