• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Serious eBay CGC issue not to be overlooked
3 3

88 posts in this topic

While I'm still in the return process, I felt I should post this as a cautionary tale to those interested. For now, I will not name the seller nor the book until the case is closed, but here are the details. 

I purchased a buy it now slight restoration GA cgc book for well over 3k ( A-1 ,slight color touch, cover cleaned, tear seals , spine split reinforced) When it arrived I cracked it out since I'm not a big slab guy. Immediately after taking it out I noticed the cover had several squiggily cover creases that seemed rather odd. Having owned a few restored books in my day, I suspected this didn't seem quite right. Not being a restoration expert, I decided to spend the 120 and send it express to have it looked at. A week and a half later I was mortified to see it come back as slight/moderate pieces added to cover A-2. I immediately contacted the seller and initiated a return claim. Naturally the seller respond in a hostile way saying that he called CGC and they couldn't explain it and the seller accused me of swapping out his restored book with another restored book. Not wishing to get into a 'issing match with him, I simply told him I'm not taking a bath on this since it has nothing to do with me. Bottom line here is apparently some major issues have been overlooked in the grading process and I just wonder if it happened here, how many other times has this occurred. This is beyond troubling as apparently not everything is as it seems.

Edited by Courageous Cat

Unless the slab was somehow manipulated, You crack it, it's yours until you sell it!

Sellers risk much on eBay.  This is why I'll never sell there.