• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Production error miss cut

7 posts in this topic

Hello, I am new to grading comic books and having them encapsulated by cgc. I have an older book Tales of Suspense 87 that has a miss cut from the printer that has caused the cover to be larger. Can I still have this graded by cgc? Will it receive a blue label? Can it be encapsulated being that it is now a little bit larger on the cover? I think this is a wonderful book and would love to have it encapsulated.

20211204_152111.jpg

20211204_152103.jpg

On 12/4/2021 at 11:36 PM, Eitan Kalma said:

Hello, I am new to grading comic books and having them encapsulated by cgc. I have an older book Tales of Suspense 87 that has a miss cut from the printer that has caused the cover to be larger. Can I still have this graded by cgc? Will it receive a blue label? Can it be encapsulated being that it is now a little bit larger on the cover? I think this is a wonderful book and would love to have it encapsulated.

That is cool. As the Lion implied, CGC would struggle to slab that book with the fold open as the overhang would just get crushed as the book moved around in the inner sleeve. But you could ask CGC to slab it with the fold closed up? That is how it naturally came off the presses after all. The miscut is the salient feature of the book, so having the fold up would visually accentuate that. Some would find that silly of course, but not everyone thinks the same way, do they Eitan. And it would be cool to see how it came back. Something different.

On 12/5/2021 at 5:32 AM, Get Marwood & I said: