• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Grading Tier Level?

6 posts in this topic

Hello, I am new to the whole grading & authenticating process of getting comic books ready to sell. First, I would like to know how one is supposed to accurately determine the "Max Value" of the a particular book before it is graded? Second, the lowest tier costs minimum $60 for 1 comic book. is it even worth grading anything valued less than $200? Any information that could help me grade some of my books cheaply & efficiently would be greatly appreciated.

On 12/24/2021 at 6:04 AM, B-RadC said:

Hello, I am new to the whole grading & authenticating process of getting comic books ready to sell. First, I would like to know how one is supposed to accurately determine the "Max Value" of the a particular book before it is graded? Second, the lowest tier costs minimum $60 for 1 comic book. is it even worth grading anything valued less than $200? Any information that could help me grade some of my books cheaply & efficiently would be greatly appreciated.

Hi & Welcome!

Think of FMV as insurance if something were to happen to your book(s) while in posession by CGC (& not any shipping company)

One way to think about it is what would it cost you to find a raw book in similar condition  to replace it.  You can make use of the "Buddy Can You Spare a Grade" forum where forum members will give you their estimates of the condition based on pics you upload.   If you want to try that then read the sticky post in that forum

Here's a link to CGC FMV info

https://www.cgccomics.com/submit/declared-value-policy/

Once you get an idea of the condition of the books you'd like to submit, then you can look for estimates of value from the Overstreet guide, Ebay or other websites (GoCollect, comicspriceguide) etc