• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Mondo Poster Thread
1 1

10 posts in this topic

I know, it's not comics but close enough...  I recently bought my first home and am decorating an area with vintage movie posters and Mondo Posters.  I'm still learning about Mondo Posters and thought this might be a good topic to start.  i.e. What is the exact definition of Mondo Art? Does it have to be published by Mondo Studio's to fall in Mondo art or is it popular enough that style has transcend Mondo Studio's only?  I noticed that there have been some high sales on Heritage for non-Mondo Studio's, Mondo-like posters.  There are some really cool Posters I'm interested in however I'm little hesitant to pull the trigger with some of the high prices.  Input welcome in regards to opinions on Mondo art as a long term purchase.

Edited by Xenosmilus

I believe there is a thread in the comic art section for Mondo posters. I have quite a few myself. I think the overall feeling is they are not what they used to be. Now I get more from Hero Complex Gallery and Bottleneck than I do Mondo. Much bigger selection and they don't sell out in 5 seconds. 

I've seen some people call the Mondo type of limited poster Mondos. But all they are, are large format screen prints or serigraphs. As wombat mentioned there are other galleries that also sell posters in the same format as Mondo these days. And they are easier to get than Mondo posters because they don't have the Mondo name or are open editions for a limited time period. Flippers aren't interested in that.