• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Question about spine stress

6 posts in this topic

I am new to submitting to CGC so please help me understand how spine stress affects a 9.8 grade. I have read all about negligible and the sum and it still is kind of fuzzy. I just got a great TMNT #1 and it looks superb but hard to notice two tiny stress marks but its funny because they fit into the cover art nicely thats why I didnt see them at first. I want to send this book to CGC but only want a 9.8 (ha ha dont we all) so I dont know what to make of these two stress marks so I thought I would ask the community what they think. I wanted to do a walk thru for this book but anything under a 9.8 and I will be close to current price so I dont know if it is a good idea or not. So help me out and take a look and tell me what you think.

Greatly appreciated

Jim

DSC00182.JPG

DSC00182.JPG

Edited by Demetri
added pic

If you "only want a 9.8" you're probably out of luck.  Those color-breaking creases appear to be rather significant.  
I would post these pics and high-res scans of the entire front and back covers to the "Please Grade My..." forum topic for further opinions.  

Thanks dj,

Sometimes the truth hurts lol I.appreciate your opinion. I only say a 9.8 because I can save six months +++ wait time and the trouble of grading and just buy one at 9.4 / 9.6 for 250 or do a walk through but its almost $200 soooo what to do, or do nothing and just sit on it. I appreciate your opinion, I was thinking the front view looks almost flawless. I have full images in grade my book post I discovered after posting this. I can add them again here i you think...

On 1/10/2022 at 7:27 AM, theCapraAegagrus said:

If you only want a 9.8, then I suggest buying an already-graded 9.8 from someone else. 2c