• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

How big of a deal is a stain? Have a chance to buy X-Men 94
1 1

11 posts in this topic

Well it’s a hole in my collection and this copy of 94 is pretty nice except for a small corner stain on the lower right hand side. I’m new to collecting and I’m curious how big of a deal is staining to both collectors and cgc when grading.

On 4/10/2022 at 7:46 PM, KCode98 said:

Well it’s a hole in my collection and this copy of 94 is pretty nice except for a small corner stain on the lower right hand side. I’m new to collecting and I’m curious how big of a deal is staining to both collectors and cgc when grading.

A book with a stain has the highest grade of 7.5.  If it otherwise higher than that, it will be a 7.5.  Good luck.

On 4/11/2022 at 10:07 AM, KCode98 said:

Hmmm what is a fair market value for a 7.5 X-Men 94? This one looks very nice. 

there is a service called GPA analysis that most people use to get sales history on graded comics.  It's a pay service.  Otherwise, one can just take sales data from ebay and extrapolate/interpolate their own price estimates to get in the range.

Good luck.

There are many copies of this book out there. I don't recommend buying a stained copy, when there are plenty non-stained copies available.

Will your eye always be drawn to the stain? Some down day the road, will a potential buyer only notice the stain?

It's not a tough book. You may find it harder to find another buyer willing to accept what you overlook.

On 4/10/2022 at 10:42 PM, WernerVonDoom said:

A book with a stain has the highest grade of 7.5.  If it otherwise higher than that, it will be a 7.5.  Good luck.