• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

newbie dabbling , and bought a 9.6 with ink on cover

10 posts in this topic

while I'm not a high grade chaser I assume I got a deal on this book due to the ink,  but I was kind of shocked to see a name Tyler written lightly above the Bagley/Emberlin   to have it grade a 9.6?  is this normal?  the book is really nice besides that no spine issues or corner issues,  but was thinking it'd have a lower grade  .... just looking for long time collectors feedback ... as I'm still learning DSC_0221.thumb.JPG.76de3b3555fb0691c4e05e095e53a214.JPGDSC_0222.thumb.JPG.079678050ae049d655faa71dba94f1fc.JPG

On 5/13/2022 at 2:26 AM, TheRealRussquatch said:

while I'm not a high grade chaser I assume I got a deal on this book due to the ink,  but I was kind of shocked to see a name Tyler written lightly above the Bagley/Emberlin   to have it grade a 9.6?  is this normal?  the book is really nice besides that no spine issues or corner issues,  but was thinking it'd have a lower grade  .... just looking for long time collectors feedback ... as I'm still learning DSC_0221.thumb.JPG.76de3b3555fb0691c4e05e095e53a214.JPGDSC_0222.thumb.JPG.079678050ae049d655faa71dba94f1fc.JPG

Welcome to the boards!

So generally, writing on an older comic (like 1970s or older) is not factored in negatively, and at worse might bump a comic 0.5 grade. A tiny date written, a name neatly written....it is very possible to still obtain a high grade with such a defect because it pertains to the history of the comic (a lot of collectors, myself included, like a date stamp or even a neatly written identifier). Scribbles all over a cover, well that is obviously a different story because that would distract from the appeal of the book much more significantly.