• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

PCH noob here - help with etiquette to avoid lowballing.
1 1

44 posts in this topic

I wouldn't be afraid to shoot them the $1800 offer; the worst they can do is say no or not respond. Your sales data sounds reasonable, so I wouldn't call that lowballing.

I will say, there are *definitely* sellers who will price a book higher (even multiples higher) than what they expect to eventually get for it... it's kind of a ripple effect of the whole BIN/Best Offer system. Who knows if your seller is thinking that way, but there's no harm in trying.

On 5/27/2022 at 1:11 PM, Point Five said:

I wouldn't be afraid to shoot them the $1800 offer; the worst they can do is say no or not respond. Your sales data sounds reasonable, so I wouldn't call that lowballing.

I will say, there are *definitely* sellers who will price a book higher (even multiples higher) than what they expect to eventually get for it... it's kind of a ripple effect of the whole BIN/Best Offer system. Who knows if your seller is thinking that way, but there's no harm in trying.

I did shoot them an offer, and currently waiting. Which, they could respond. I had some luck in a previous offer I made on MCS, and it was very similar. I came at them at 50% of their ask (that book had very little data on it, and it is a scarce type of book that doesn't come up), and we negotiated a price I was happy with, but I'm sure they were tired of the haggling - the last offer they sent added .01 to the final dollar amount on the counteroffer. lol