• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

How much does an unverified signature devalue a key issue?

22 posts in this topic

I know this is a subjective question.  I'm just looking for opinions.

Years ago, before CGC even existed, I did something dumb - I had Chris Claremont sign a high grade copy of X-Men 94.

I'm no expert at grading, but the book is in REALLY nice shape, maybe a 7.5 to 8.0 give-or-take a couple of decimals. 

If I got it graded, it would end up with a green label.  How much do you estimate the signature would reduce the value?

Thanks!

IMG_20220815_074023341_HDR.jpg

I’d say do a sampling of sold issues on eBay, and aggregate your own data then do your own analysis.  (Make sure you factor in costs as well).

it depends on the signature, the issue, the grade, the age of the comic, the look of the signature, luck, etc.  

also, you’re not being very specific with what you want your comparison points to be

On 8/15/2022 at 1:47 PM, Steamed Hams said:

Wow, gold pen on the cover before CGC was a thing? The OP can see the future! :shiftyeyes:

Yeah.  Had it signed at Dragon*Con in 1996.

On 8/15/2022 at 12:38 PM, revat said:

I’d say do a sampling of sold issues on eBay, and aggregate your own data then do your own analysis.  (Make sure you factor in costs as well).

it depends on the signature, the issue, the grade, the age of the comic, the look of the signature, luck, etc.  

also, you’re not being very specific with what you want your comparison points to be

I'm not sure what you mean by "you're not being very specific with what you want your comparison points to be."

If the book grades at an 8.0, and an 8.0 sells on eBay for an average price of $800, what, in your opinion, could I reasonably expect to get for this book on eBay with a green label 8.0 grade?