• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Respected pressers with decent current turn around times?

14 posts in this topic

Hello all,

I have a handful of semi-key/key books (mostly bronze age) that I would like to submit for grading, but they should really be cleaned and pressed.  I have seen some very well respected pressers mentioned on these boards as I don't want to go with CCS, but most of them seem to have pretty long turn around times as well.  Can anyone suggest some pressers you trust that have decent times (maybe around a month, but the quicker the better).   Thanks for any info.  I am pretty new to pressing and grading.  I have gotten my own cheaper style press, but want to definitely practice a ton more and with cheaper books before I try myself.  Thanks again!!

Unfortunately the turnaround times are long because they are respected. If you're looking at short turnarounds, they're newer on the block. Some like Avery Pressing and Impressive have fast track pressing, but it's not cheap. If you're looking for a quick press on your everyday modern, you can probably go with some of the smaller companies and be fine. If your books take time and effort, don't skimp.

Besides those two I'd also suggest @joeypost at CFP.

On 11/26/2022 at 5:40 PM, Tnexus said:

Besides those two I'd also suggest @joeypost at CFP.

Not if you're looking for a quick turnaround. I sent some books back in late August, and the header on their website at that time said they were processing books received in Oct 2021. Based on what their website says now, it's probably still an 8-10 month wait. I'm pressing for personal (not grading) reasons, so I don't mind, but if you're pressing and grading, it seems like it might be a ~2 year wait? 

On 11/26/2022 at 6:55 PM, stock_rotation said: