• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

MISSING: Iron Man #55 CGC 9.0 OW pages - Certification number 4076324006
1 1

13 posts in this topic

Hello all...asking for the comic collecting community to be on the lookout for a missing Iron Man #55, graded CGC 9.0 with OW pages, Cert #4076324006. I sold this on eBay back in August, dropped it off at the Post Office (in a drop box) and then...nothing. It was sold to a buyer in California who never received it. Unfortunately the USPS never scanned the item (it was sent insured USPS Priority) so they denied my insurance claim. I refunded the buyer as it was the right thing to do, but dang this one hurt. I've been selling on eBay for 20 years and always use USPS Priority Mail. In all that time (thousands of books), they have lost only 2 packages, and one of them was eventually returned to me...battered but intact. Only one was truly lost and never showed up. Until now! I've exhausted all options with the Post Office, and long story short: basically I'm screwed because it was never scanned so they accept no responsibility because I can't prove I put it in the drop box. Obviously in hindsight I should have given it directly to a PO employee to scan and acknowledge acceptance, but again in over a thousand transactions (almost all put in their large collection bin) it was never an issue. But live and learn. Anyway...back then it was a $2K+ book and I just had to eat it. The book is somewhere, certainly it's possible the buyer did actually receive it...but I do believe him that they never got it. Maybe it's truly lost under the seat of a Post Office truck or something, or maybe a greedy PO worker snagged it. I just wanted to put out an alert in case it does resurface for sale somewhere, somehow. Obviously it's a longshot but you never know. :for