• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Dumb question, but consider the source

24 posts in this topic

How, or should I say could, someone send a Ped in for re-grading and still have it slabbed as a Ped?

I assume the obvious answer is to send it in the slab, but wouldn't it likely get the same grade that's on the label?

Fell free to mock away and :makepoint: me, but I'm a relative newb to the slabbing public.

I assume the obvious answer is to send it in the slab, but wouldn't it likely get the same grade that's on the label?

Nope. People have sent in books to be re-holder or re-graded and the grade got knocked down. The ped designation would remain, but not necessarily the grade.

Nope. People have sent in books to be re-holder or re-graded and the grade got knocked down. The ped designation would remain, but not necessarily the grade.

Not exactly, if I understand correctly. If it's simply a re-holder submission, the grade would remain unless damage to the slab occurred and affected the book.

I meant if the book was submitted to be re-graded, which could in some cases change the grade. Why else would someone re-submit? Thanks anyway for the (non-wizeazz) response.

The grader should not know about the previous label. Send it in, get the $5 discount and the pedigree will stay with it, fool.

I said it was okay to mock away if you like, but I don't care for being called fool, friend-o. Crystal?

Not exactly, if I understand correctly. If it's simply a re-holder submission, the grade would remain unless damage to the slab occurred and affected the book.

It has been posted before that re-holder submissions have indeed been returned with different grades. One was even a better grade :gossip: