• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Seduction of the Innocent: Add some, remove some

3 posts in this topic

I've been here at the boards for a number of years and collecting comics related to Fredric Wertham's Seduction of the Innocent for many more years. However, I'm new to the registry, so please be patient if I make a newbie error or two.

It looks like the SOTI set has some errors: some books that don't belong and some others that do. Some are pretty clear-cut. Others may be open to debate. I hope this is the correct forum in which to discuss them.

I would suggest that these books should be included in the set:

True Love Problems and Advice Illustrated #11. This was mentioned in the text of SOTI, on pages 185-186. Details of this and other additions are here.

Seduction of the Innocent Website News Archive

Gang Busters #3 should be included. It was pictured in SOTI with the caption "comic-book map for crime."

World's Finest #44 should be included. It was mentioned on pages 9 and 190 of SOTI.

Batman #64 should be included. It was mentioned on page 191 of SOTI.

As for things that should not be included, two are pretty clear.

True Crime v1#4 should not be listed as a SOTI book, because Wertham didn't mention it. Overstreet has had this information incorrect for a long time.

Haunt of Fear 23 was not referred to in SOTI. For many years, Overstreet had this incorrectly listed as an SOTI book; they have since corrected this error.

Some other changes to the SOTI set should, IMHO, be made, but perhaps it would be best to define what the set is intended to include.