• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

PGM: X-Men 105-A (35 Cent Variant)

5 posts in this topic

Hello Everyone,

This is my first post on the board and what a fun book to get to talk about.

Recently I discovered an oddball issue while cataloging my partner's comic book collection. My background is in marketing so I'm used to doing A/B splits with mailings and such to test the relative strength of two offers or what have you. But to me such things are purely functional so I thought little of it initially. Then my research revealed the "Marvel variants" and how an entire sub-genre of collectors have made these rare gems their focus.

And this particular one is quite rare. CGC Census shows only 22 out of 869 graded 105's are this variant, or 2.53%. With ours those numbers will change ever so slightly to 23 out of 870 or 2.64%. I'd say that still qualifies as pretty rare. :)

This copy like so many of the era is in very decent shape. There aren't any hidden defects to disclose. Pretty much what you see is what you get.

Since we're not variant collectors ourselves we plan on selling it so that somebody who'll truly appreciate it may add it to their collection where it will be more fitting. But without a grade it's hard to determine the value. Hopefully the lovely folks here on the board can help steer us in the right direction.

So what do you think? Can you spare a grade? Thank you in advance for your time and thoughtful feedback.

X-Men_105-A_100dpi_1_zpsgt8x9awg.jpg

X-Men_105-A_100dpi_2_zpskhapiigf.jpg

Thanks PointFive...welcome to you too it would appear!