• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Restoration or Low Grade?

9 posts in this topic

Hey all,

My very first comic book was Daredevil v1 #2, and purely for nostalgic reasons I had it signed by Stan two years ago. Of course, since it was so old (and well-loved), it came back a 2.0 slabbed, which I definitely expected. However, I've been thinking of getting it restored just so it presents better ... but I know doing that is considered "taboo" in some circles.

Seeing as I'm pretty new at this, I'm curious what the CGC board members' opinions are on restoration. Would you prefer to own a restored copy of a book or a low-grade copy, and why?

Best,

Andrew

If the book wasn't signed by Stan, I would say get it restored. Since it is I would keep it as is.

Does restoration invalidate the SS? If I have CCS restore it they can send it back over to CGC keeping SS, right?

Or do you mean I should keep it as is because Stan's autograph should stay on the original unrestored book, so to speak?

Golden Age Comics (pre-1956)

slight moderate extensive

app NM 9.4 - 0.25 0.20 0.125

app VF 8.0 - 0.50 0.35 0.20

app FN 6.0 - 0.70 0.60 0.40

app VG 4.0 - 0.80 0.70 0.50

app GD 2.0 - 0.90 0.80 0.60

Silver Age (1956-1970)

slight moderate extensive

app NM 9.4 - 0.15 0.10 0.05

app VF 8.0 - 0.25 0.20 0.10

app FN 6.0 - 0.50 0.40 0.30

app VG 4.0 - 0.70 0.50 0.40

app GD 2.0 - 0.80 0.60 0.50