• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Is this book a 3.5 by Overstreet standards

8 posts in this topic

Several weeks ago I saw the following book on eBay.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Action-Comics-247-December-1958-Superman-s-Lost-Parents-/161913559177?hash=item25b2ccd889:g:a0gAAOSwnipWaPk0

The seller, John Haines. lists the book as a VG- 3.5 (according to Overstreet). I emailed John and told him that given the large spine split and heavy writing on the front cover, I did not see how this could be a 3.5.

To be fair, John does lists the defects of the book and at best it is a low grade copy to begin with. I just want to know for my own self, if I am off base by thinking this book is overgraded. I am not an expert grader, I am just a humble collector.

Could someone with a better eye for such things give me their opinion and tell me if I am wrong.

I would drop the grade for such an obtrusive grease pencil mark, even on a lower grade book, but many don't always do so, including CGC.

The split is in the middle of the spine, and IMHO between a size that might not have much impact on the grade below VG, and one that would automatically bring it down to the Good range.

It looks more like a 2.5 to me, but I could see some calling it a 3.0. I've bought from John before, and found his grading to be decent, and he does list defects of note. Sometimes folks get a little loose on a book now and then ( and that includes CGC).

Thank you to all who responded to this request for a grade.