• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Foil Covers vs Inner Seals
1 1

2 posts in this topic

Need advice. ... Not new to comics more of an old timer, but I'm new to sending comics to CGC for first submissions Grading. So, a few months ago I sent CGC., 2- 9.9 comics That I got from Comic Con, and one had plastic floating around in its case and both graded comics had sticky scuff marks from the case inner wells sticking to the gold and silver foil comic covers both back and front. Case had a few scratches but no biggie there I can clean that up it's on the exterior. Anyway, so I sent them both in with instructions on the damage with the cases and I asked that they be gentle with my submission for re-holder and for them to remove the comics (on 2) from the inner wells on account they were sticking and smudging on the inner wells and to add new wells. (THEY NEVER DID THIS) What they did was just crack the cases and just added my comics back in new cases with the same wells, that is it. But listen to this, the original cases were very clean and clear. ... The cases my comics came back with had very dull look and the inner part of the case you can tell it had like been sitting somewhere for a while and a film developed inside both cases, and it shows that whoever worked on my comics wiped the inner cases, like you can see the wipe marks, I was in shock that this person number one, did not read my notes pertaining to having the comics removed from the inner wells and 2. Actually, placed them in older cases dirty. I will add photo's here and I think others should be WARNED that these inner wells are not good for FOIL FACED COMIC COVERS* Here's the proof in these photos. Main point is that these foil covers are sticking to the inner wells. And one of the reasons it's not a good idea to pl