• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Grading Of My TMNT #1

8 posts in this topic

Hey all,

I'm a newbie to this forum and grading in general. I have a comic which I'm thinking of sending in to CGC to get graded. Wanted to post a scan of it hear and see what I could expect (realize looking at a scan vs. actually seeing the comic is quite a bit different, but wanted to get a rough idea).

To my naive eye I can say the following. I bought the comic back in the late 80s. I never read (already read a reprinting), and basically kept it in storage. There are no tears on it, however there are some little crease lines on the cover (most are under 0.25").

Anyway, have a look and let me know what you think. I'm thinking of selling on ebay, but we'll see (this comic's been w/ me for so long!) smile.gif

Here's a picture:

tmnt_1_nobag.jpg

It is a bit difficult to judge a book by the cover alone, but here goes:

The top edge is too dark to make a judgement on - perhaps it was too close to the top of the scanner edge. If that top edge is clean, with no marks or stress and the upper-right corner is as sharp as the lower-right corner, you have the beginnings of a very sharp book.

The spine shows a few visible stress points and the lower-left corner looks like it has a slight impact ding/stress & perhaps some color-rub loss about 1" in. It's hard to tell if that top-left corner is sharp or soft (which can make a grade-point or so of difference).

If your back cover is clean & stress/damage free & your staples are snugly in place, you have a rock-solid book.