• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

What does CGC mean when they say

25 posts in this topic

Restoration includes: cover reinforced with glue.

I can't see anything visible on the front cover of this book I have.

Is it something detectable under black light?

And under the 'Apparent'... it says Slight (P)?

I'm new to this CGC stuff.

Well , they can tell somehow about glue, and (P) is good ! (it means it's prob. removable and doesn't bleed thru .

There are better professionals here if they aren't asleep or drunk.

B~

I recently had an avengers 1 come back the same as yours, slight p with a small amount of glue on cover. I had the glue removed and it not only came back with a blue label but a half point higher. Glue is an easy fix if your book is worth the cost of having it removed.

Could you post a scan of the book, is it an old label?

Reason I ask is the term "cover reinforced with glue " is a new one to me.

For starters I would call CGC and ask for the grader notes.

Well , they can tell somehow about glue, and (P) is good ! (it means it's prob. removable and doesn't bleed thru .

There are better professionals here if they aren't asleep or drunk.

B~

The (P) stands for "Professional". Your other option was (A) for "Amateur".

Sorry it's taken me almost 2 years to get back to this post... lol

Here's the label.

55-1.jpg

I know a bit more now about resto and CGC and all that since my first post here back in '09 but I don't see this too often.

'Cover reinforced with glue'

I'm curious as to what's involved with that process... :shrug: