• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Pulp magazine expert wanted ...

12 posts in this topic

I've seen some wonderful pulps being sold here on the boards and I have a question about trimming that I can't find an answer to searching the net. Pulps seemingly have cover overhang on all three sides. This overhang obviously gets torn and looks ragged as the the years go by.

How does trimming the overhang affect the value of the book and is it easy to tell if a pulp has been trimmed (in other words, should all pulps have some sort of cover overhang)?

[reposted from General.]

Well, I'm no expert, but I would avoid trimmed pulps like I would trimmed comics. Trimming definitely affects the value, though I'm not sure by how much ... guess it depends on the demand of the particular pulp.

Its a bit tricky to tell if a pulp has been trimmed, as trimming ranges from micro-trimming to major trimming. I've found that trimmed pulps were usually trimmed pretty generously, so you can start to see the interior paper past the cover edge.

Its hard to see trimming on scans sometimes, so use caution and ask questions if buying online.

Lastly, some pulps (like early AMAZING STORIES) were trimmed at the time they were printed, and have nice even edges. So it helps to know if certain titles were pre-trimmed.

Hope this helps a bit.

I'm wondering if trimming is even more prevalent with pulps than with comics, given that overhangs are longer on pulps and naturally look kind of bashed in (hence, the greater temptation to "neaten").