• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Market development

6 posts in this topic

Since I am fairly new to the business I was thinking if there are some rules of thumb for market development.

A store owner in Germany told me that some years ago he sold a Harbinger #1 for 100 DM (that was about 50 US $). Today this book is not worth much anymore.

Does that have to do with the bankruptcy of Valiant? So can I assume, that once a company does not produce comics anymore there won´t be no more interest in their older titles anymore?

Let´s say DD Vol.2 becomes as weak as Spawn did after a while, will that push down the prices for the first issues 1-8 or will those just stop to rise (or will they keep on rising nonetheless?)?

If the Amazing Spiderman Series would be cancelled (ok it most likely won´t), would that affect the value of the early ASM´s?

Did you experience titles becoming unwanted and having a big revival after some months/years/decades?

How do you predict Wolverine Origin prices to develop? Those have been traded a lot for quite some time, will that saturate the market or will those titles be traded infinitely?

A lot of questions, I know. Maybe some of you can answer a few... or just give there prognosis, because I guess nobody will really KNOW in advance how the market will develop...

Around 1992, the mkt was hyped up to an incredible level due to the early glossy Wizard pr guides & Comics Value Monthly promoting the heck out of the can't miss INVESTMENT potential for low print run early Valiants.

Usually as soon as a title gets cancelled or company goes bankrupt, their recent back issues go into the under $1 bin.

Try finding Harbinger #1 in a $1 bin.