• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Comic book ubiquity and resulting fatigue

85 posts in this topic

I thought about posting this in General, but I thought it applied more to those collecting vintage books. To preface, I collect a variety of things, mostly records and paper goods and I've been collecting and reading comics for over twenty years.

In the early 90s, I was mainly interested in Marvel SA and bought a number of books that I enjoyed. In the mid-to-late 90s, I remember being energized when I saw books auctioned in CBG that I had never seen before: Schomburg covers, pre-code horror books, the 50s Atlas super-hero revival issues, etc. I participated in some of these auctions and was energized by what seemed to be a difficult task in finding these books.

Since that time though, with the development of eBay, online auctions, fan websites, CGC, and the Boards, I'm finding myself less and less interested in spending money to own books that I like. Would I enjoy reading them if I had them? Sure. But do I want to spend money on these books when I can find other, rarer items, for my other collections? No, not really. It started with Marvel SA. I stopped buying them years ago even though I still like them, enjoy looking at the art, and talking about the artists. I just don't need to own them.