• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Yet another WD thread; ok maybe more of a question

18 posts in this topic

Ok, I'm kinda new to WD; I'm just reading the TPB since it's cheaper, instead of buying singles (which is kinda insane ) :ohnoez:

So I have some question:

on some auctions; it said that it has a black "Mature Reader" warning on them, and some has white?? Why is that?? did the printing press ran out of black ink??

How do you know which one is more rare?? some claim black, some white, well which one is it?? any official numbers/comments from Image??

If there is a B/W variant, how come CGC census doesn't registered it??

if these question has been asked before, pls point me in the right direction, a linky would be helpful. :foryou:

It was always suppose to be white.

When they went to print there was a mistake with the printer and instead of printing the black 1st and then the white overtop the process was backwards. So the white went 1st and then the black completely covered the white lettering. (Kirkman told me this.)

So the black version was printed 1st.

During the printing process the mistake was realized and they stopped printing and fixed it. Kirkman wanted the white version because he thinks it's cooler looking.

Since it happened this way, the black copies were shipped together to stores and likewise for the whites. So no one knew in the early days there were 2 variants. Since all the books at the LCS would have been the same in your area. With no knowledge there were variants + the indicas inside the books being the same they were graded by CGC without distinction from the start. It doesn't make sense for them to try and change it now. 2c