• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

eBay Advice Regarding Non-Paying Bidder

43 posts in this topic

I do not claim to be a full-time comic dealer - I am a hobbyist who sometimes sells duplicates & unwanted books on the side on eBay. As such, I have a PayPal Personal account (instead of a Business account) and thus cannot accept credit card payments from buyers. I note this fact *twice* in all my item listings (once in the body and once in the "Payment Instructions" section).

An eBay & PayPal newbie hit the BIN on one of my listings. He sent a credit card payment using PayPal which I rejected. He wrote back admitting he did not read my listing carefully and now he does not want to comply with my listed requirements. He says he only pays by PayPal using a credit card (he does not have his account hooked up to a bank account) and because he is impatient to receive the book, he won't send a money order.

I wrote him back and suggested he honor his bid and pay by money order or I would wait a week if he would set up a bank transfer capability through PayPal. I'm not sure what he is going to say. Is there any way to get eBay to cancel this transaction without me eating the fees? They're not much, but it is a matter of principle to me that I should not have to lose a cent because this guy screwed up.

Any suggestions on how to resolve this would be greatly appreciated.

You know what's funny, one time I bought some comics from a seller with decent feedback. They came all and not NM..I sent them back and the guy filed a NPB form and I was kicked off eBay..no first offense warning [!@#%^&^]..just see ya later!

Brian

lol he doesn't have 60 dollars? I'm assuming it's the X-men book.. Tell him to use bidpay.com