• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Suggestions to color this?

50 posts in this topic

Hello all,

This finally came in. I absolutely love it, but it was supposed to have color and I want to get it there. I'm still learning artists.

I thought of Mike Lilly as a possibility. He's great with color, but I'm wondering how his stylistic impressions would translate on a straight forward, complex piece.

Kirk Dilbeck, an art rep I deal with, recommended someone named Moose Bauman. He doesn't rep him but he offered to refer me, which is cool. I looked at some of his stuff on CAF, and they were all done by computer.

So I'm left with some choices here.

1: Which artist should I use?

2: Have the original ink colored, or keep the inked piece raw and have a copy colored?

3: Have it colored using markers, or digital?

I know this is all personal preference, but I'd still greatly appreciate some opinions on this one.

Thanks!

Untitled.jpg

So I'm left with some choices here.

1: Which artist should I use?

If you go digital your choices are limitless.

2: Have the original ink colored, or keep the inked piece raw and have a copy colored?

Wait, What? You are considering sending this to someone to have them color the original? In this day and age there is absolutely no reason for that. Unless the original artist created the final piece in color I wouldn't let anyone else touch it.

3: Have it colored using markers, or digital?

In any case you will need to get a nice scan of the piece to email to prospective colorists.

Good luck finding someone. :wishluck:

There are plenty of proficient colorists right here on the boards

Thanks, Mister!