• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Con etiquette questions (And specifically artist alley)

8 posts in this topic

Hey all, as you probably have noticed I'm a newb around here. Just got back into collecting comics for the first time in 6+ years. Prior to this, I was pretty content to just go into my LCS, grab the latest Marvel books, and leave it at that. Now, though, I'm trying to explore the other facets of this hobby, which has led to some pretty basic questions that I just have to ask. Sucks being the new guy, but what else can I do, right? :)

So I went to NYCC which was my first con, and it was all a bit... scary. I guess my main questions would be regarding sketches/signatures: If the creator is at their booth/table, is it considered generally kosher to ask for them to sign something or even for a quick sketch? I was a little uncomfortable/intimidated, as everyone seems pretty busy working on commissions and such. So I felt like, unless I'm just buying a print, I'm kinda wasting their time.

Any knowledge or experience you can share would be greatly appreciated! Sorry for being long winded, haha.

I've had artists pause from their sketching to do a quick sig, especially those who has a signing fee. If they're doing free sigs, try not to bring 20 for them to sign.

Always consider that there is a line or list. Unless you're the first to get to their table, most likely you'll be on a waiting list for sketches. Artists themselves know how many sketches they can do in a show. They'll tell you if their list is full. Some will offer post-show work to be finished either at the next show they're attending, or they can mail it to you.

Don't forget that these guys have feelings too.