• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Sketch opp question

3 posts in this topic

Im new to the sketch cover stuff and was just wondering is it better to just tell the artist the character you want and let them be creative and do what they want or to tell them exactly how you want the characters positioned and such?

Depends on you really, or at least that's what I think. If you want Professor X jumping his chair through a ring of fire then you better be really specific. If you just want Professor X then ask for that and leave it up to the artist.

I personally ask for a character and specify which version (by sending a reference pic or two) and things I'd like. For example Zatanna with her top hat or Batman having a battle damaged suit. Other than that it's totally up to the artist. I have had great success with it. Of all the sketches I have had done by this method, one was pretty good and the others were far and away above what I expected.

I also love the surprise of not knowing what will come. I have a Deadpool vs. Wolverine in the works and have very little parameters for it and cannot wait to see what it looks like.

Im new to the sketch cover stuff and was just wondering is it better to just tell the artist the character you want and let them be creative and do what they want or to tell them exactly how you want the characters positioned and such?