• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Kirby on a cover?

12 posts in this topic

Saw this

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=161199264693&ssPageName=ADME:B:SS:US:3160

I dont think its real, but it got me wondering if anyone has seen Kirby sign a cover (not counting the DF Milestone numbered comics)?

He always seemed to sign the page 1 splash... but would he sign a cover?

I am not a Kirby expert by any stretch of the imagination, but that is a huge signature. The ones that I have seen are not that large, except on some of the full sized commissions, where those are more like inscriptions with a big signature.

It looks too modern - large, on the front cover, across the copy, at an odd angle...

I can't see the signature well enough to judge it but the Stan Lee looks fishy. Generally, Kirby found a clear space and adjusted the size of his signature to fit.

Depends when Stan signed it, but man those are some of the worst signature placements I have ever seen. This seller may have a hard time selling this comic. How many fake Kirby signatures are there out there? I know Stan Lee has quite a few in the market of fake signatures.

I am not a Kirby expert by any stretch of the imagination, but that is a huge signature. The ones that I have seen are not that large, except on some of the full sized commissions, where those are more like inscriptions with a big signature.

thats what I thought.

Kirby certainly cared about his art, and I dont know that I've ever seen him sign across it, and the few times he has signed a cover (like the DF Milestones) he was very precise about it so to not affect the art)

Saw this