• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Slabbing for preservation???

79 posts in this topic

Would anyone suggest slabbing a book to keep it's condition fully preserved? Bags & boards alone, from my experience, do not keep books fully preserved. I have several modern books, mostly variant covers and key issues (1st appearances), from the 80's to the present, which I am considering slabbing strictly for purposes of safe keeping. They may be sold sometime, but not anytime in the next 3 or 4 decades.

Anyone think it's a good idea to pay the grading fees for this purpose? 893scratchchin-thumb.gif

Um, may I ask why? I'm new to the idea.

The best advice would be to do a forum search for the words "microchamber paper" and "SCS" (aka: Shaken Comic Syndrome).

You might have to go back a ways to find the relevant arguments about microchamber paper, but it's well worth it.

So, briefly, what is microchamber paper?

It's the paper they (CGC) put in between the cover and the book (why, I have no idea as books have survived this long with no such "protection" from itself), and they (CGC) claim that this paper must be changed every seven years.

So, briefly, what is microchamber paper?

It's the paper they (CGC) put in between the cover and the book (why, I have no idea as books have survived this long with no such "protection" from itself), and they (CGC) claim that this paper must be changed every seven years.

One of the benefits of the microchamber paper is to prevent oil migration from the interior pages to the cover, which causes that yellowing you see on books like Giant Size X-men 1.

The benefit in having a buffered backing board is to neutralize any acids generated as the paper decomposes.