• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Condition of Comics that Come with Toys??
1 1

37 posts in this topic

Greetings.

I'm considering buying a toy because I want the comic that comes packaged with it. What condition is the comic usually in? Assuming I open it carefully and the 'eyeball' inspection pre-opening looks to be Near Mint or better, what are my 9.8 chances?

*Note that I'm talking about toys from the 90's and early 2000's

I have no experience with this, and would any sharing of experiences you've had.

Thanks a lot.

Edited by Revat

I picked up some Marvel Legends just for the comics & they were in pretty high grade shape.

I mean, if they're bound on the cardboard card with the toy, and the card is in good shape, you've got a pretty good chance that the book is in good shape too.

thanks yes

they are not rolled. they are in flat in the packaging. One of them I'm looking at is Marvel Legends

So long as the packaging looks good, the comic should be good.

I bought a thai version of Hellboy II in a limited edition packaging because it contained a rare ashcan cover. (The comic was still the English version). It was near mint because the package was still sealed and made it here from the other side of the globe without getting crushed.

-Terry

With Marvel Legends I believe that it depends on the figure. Consider this:

Figures are not packaged or mass released with the intent of preserving them on the card. The figures are packaged in a manner that secures the item to a card so it can hang from a shelf and present the figure. The figure is also packaged a certain way so that it may comfortable fit into a box with the other figures for shipment.