• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Picking up Restoration

3 posts in this topic

How do you determine if there is restoration without buying the expensive equipment necessary to ferret it out? I just bought a FF #48 and the seller (who is reliable in my opinion) stated that he held the book under black light and thoroughly checked, albeit unprofessionally, for restoration, and saw none...however he does not guarantee it...I want to send the book to CGC but am worried about restoration problems...(I have a weeks window for refund)

please advise

I'm not an expert on restoration but I suggest some of the following:

1. Read the articles in the new Overstreet grading guide on restoration. This will give you some ideas of what to look for.

2. Invest in one of the cheap black light bulbs and look at the front cover and inside the front cover under the black light. To get a better idea of what to look for, try getting a ratty book that you don't care about and make some marks on it with felt pens, ink pens, artists paints, whatever. See what each of these looks like under normal light and black light. Erasures often show up under black light also.

3. Look for bleed through of marker ink on the inside of the front cover.

4. Look for evidence of cutting or trimming. The early 60s Marvels were notorious for inconsistent sizing right from the printer. But I think by the time of FF #48 they were doing a better job. Grab a few books from about the same time period and lay this one on top of it. See if the book is consistently shorter or narrower than these books.