• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

But, is it a 9.2 posted by richard8158

3 posts in this topic

I already have the perfect book, just not the perfect grade

I was thumbing through my GIC slabs early this morning, only looking at the ones graded below 9.6. I studied a couple in particular, one a 9.2 and the other a 9.4. I remember when I sent them in, thinking they were flawless. I still do. Are we turning our backs on a great number of beautiful comics in our quest for 9.8s? Has grading gotten more strict over the years? I have a few "old label" CGCs that I don't think would hold up to today's standards. Just my opinion. Collect what you like and don't worry about the grade.

See more journals by richard8158

I already have the perfect book, just not the perfect grade

I was thumbing through my GIC slabs early this morning, only looking at the ones graded below 9.6. I studied a couple in particular, one a 9.2 and the other a 9.4. I remember when I sent them in, thinking they were flawless. I still do. Are we turning our backs on a great number of beautiful comics in our quest for 9.8s? Has grading gotten more strict over the years? I have a few "old label" CGCs that I don't think would hold up to today's standards. Just my opinion. Collect what you like and don't worry about the grade.

See more journals by richard8158

Yes - the quest for 9.8s is silly and well into the realm of diminishing returns. 2c