• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Ebay purchase reeks of cigarette smoke

55 posts in this topic

Today I received an ASM lot consisting of #361-364. Picked it up for under 75 shipped. The only problem is they stink of cigarettes doh!

In the auction, it wasn't disclosed that it came from a smoke free home. Now my office stinks! I already changed the bag/boards..How would you guys handle this? Return? This is my first time having to deal with something like this.

Just now, Ovrclck said:

Today I received an ASM lot consisting of #361-364. Picked it up for under 75 shipped. The only problem is they stink of cigarettes doh!

In the auction, it wasn't disclosed that it came from a smoke free home. Now my office stinks! I already changed the bag/boards..How would you guys handle this? Return? This is my first time having to deal with something like this.

I'd return it.  May never stop stinkin

I have successfully removed odor by first running my hand across each page then putting in front of fan 5-10 min per page.  The fact that you can smell an odor means that the odor molecules are leaving the book-you just need to accelerate the process.  Don't be hard on seller-smokers cannot smell cigarette smoke so likely he was unaware it smelled so bad.

10 minutes ago, Senormac said:

I always thought you had to put each page in front of the fan for 8-12 min ?  You must have one of those super odor blowing power fans

Yes it is a SOBPF-available on Amazon.com

4 minutes ago, thehumantorch said:

Mothball love  :luhv:

http://www.steadyhealth.com/topics/moth-ball-addiction