• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Kite Fun Book Giveaway. Does Pixie & Dixie & Mr. Jinx exist?

6 posts in this topic

Hi,

New here. I have been collecting "Kite Fun Book" giveaways since 1985.

I started collecting Hanna Barbara comics, got 960 of the 980 that existed up

to that time. The hardest to find were the giveaways, especially the Kite Fun

Books.

So, later in the 1990s, after I sold off the comics, I kept the Kite Fun Books

because they were so hard to find and then I was working for Southern California

Edison. Since them, the only comics I collect are "Kite Fun Books." After 20 years, I have managed to get all (including 1953 Pinocchio) except one, the 1965 Pixie and Dixie listed in the Price Guide. Anybody know if it really exist?

SCE kept doing Kite Fun Books up to about 2000. I think whitman was involved

until about 1990. I have some of the later, 1998 and 1999. Still trying to fill in the 80s and 90s. They changed the name to "Kite Safety Book."

Have you ever seen the Florida version of Donald Duck Tells

About Kites? I have owned at least half a dozen copies of the

SCE and PG&E versions but have never met anyone who has heard

of a Florida copy.

THis is Kite Boy, just a different name.

1982,1984, and 1990 are all Road Runner, same book, reprints.

The last one subtitle was changed to Kite Safety Book. Copyright

western, maybe there last comic

1987 is Wattemspclett's Kite Crisis (Southern California Edison)

1989 I have a photo of, looking for it.

1997/1998 you have the title for. I guess the list I kept posting on ebay

when I was selling my duplicates made it into the price guide finally.

I posted a want add in SCE internal newsletter, offering $10 each for