• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Graded Slab Differences

11 posts in this topic

Hey everyone,

I’m new to collecting CGC books and I’ve noticed some of the newer style slabs have inner wells and others do not. I read somewhere that CGC changed their slabs due to them causing comic “damage”. If this is true, which newer slabs should I avoid? Is there a date range to keep clear off? 

Most of the new slabs I own were graded between 04/2017 to present and one from 06/2016.

28 minutes ago, finalfan7asy said:

Hey everyone,

I’m new to collecting CGC books and I’ve noticed some of the newer style slabs have inner wells and others do not. I read somewhere that CGC changed their slabs due to them causing comic “damage”. If this is true, which newer slabs should I avoid? Is there a date range to keep clear off? 

Most of the new slabs I own were graded between 04/2017 to present and one from 06/2016.

The slabs without the inner wells are the ones to stay away from. Don't go by the dates, you want the inner well.

57 minutes ago, Bomber-Bob said:

The slabs without the inner wells are the ones to stay away from. Don't go by the dates, you want the inner well.

Just to clarify that I know what an inner well is, it’s that seam line that runs around the comic inside the slab correct (see attached photo)? 

I noticed my Uncanny X-Men 142 does not have that seam line and the book appears to be floating between the slabs. From what I can tell, it does not have that wavy appearance to it. Should I still get it reholdered?

B68FF774-23BA-43A6-8C24-DE31B0774F1B.jpeg

7769DB46-825D-434B-A7F8-A97306BCC86E.jpeg

Edited by finalfan7asy