• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Newbie with lots of SA

9 posts in this topic

Looking for any thoughts on my cost/benefit analysis for evaluating CGC grading.

My ultimate goal is to sell off my collection and it seems to me that mid to high grade silver-age books earn more when they have been graded by CGC.

FYI my collection spans the late 40's through the 70's and is primarily DC & Marvel with some Gold-Key, books number over 2,000.

I'm here because I've been watching CGC comics being bought & sold on ebay for over a year now. In this time I have seen comics that I have in my "junk boxes" sellling at hefty prices.

I've been collecting since I was about 6 years old, I'm now 48. I was lucky my mom didn't throw away my comics. As a matter of fact she incouraged me to keep them in nice condition.

I'm pretty good at grading comics and I would say that my average comic being a VG+ with many in the F/VF category, with a few NM throw in.

My plan is to pick comics that I have graded VG, F, VF and submit them for grading with CGC. This way I can see how my grading standards stack up against theirs.

I thought about submitting scans here for the group to look at, but I feel that to honestly grade a book you have to hold it. It may sound strange but a book may look good but feel soggy and for me a soggy feeling book can't be graded above VG no matter how good it looks. This is something you can't grade via a scan.

If I find my grading stands up to that of CGC I will begin submiting other books for grading and then sell them on ebay; or is there a better place to sell them?

Can you go wrong with CGC grading on mid-high silver-age books?

Please let me know if you think this is a good idea or not.