• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Questions about Dry Cleaning

3 posts in this topic

Hey all.  First let me apologize if I'm posting this question in the wrong place.  I'm a noob, what can I say?

Second - is dry cleaning included in a standard CGC press?  It's my understanding that a "quick press" is just the press and nothing else, but I was under the impression that "standard press" includes dry cleaning as well, if needed.

I've been searching around and I keep getting vague or contradictory information.  In essence, I want to send in a couple of books to be pressed AND dry cleaned (to remove light pencil pricing on the back cover, and some light dirt on the white areas of the fronts), but I read somewhere that CGC only dry cleans Silver Age books, not something from the 80's.  Can anyone clarify?

My current understanding is:  Quick-press = no dry cleaning, pressing only.

While Standard Press = a more careful press with dry cleaning included, if necessary.

But this only applies to older (non Modern) books.

Is that correct?

Thanks.

Edited by Artlover1

https://www.cgccomics.com/ccs-pressing/

Pressing

Pressing is a process that can enhance the appearance of a comic book by removing non-color breaking defects such as dents, bends, crunches, rippling, warping, spine rolls and indentations. It neither adds nor takes away from the comic, making it a non-restorative process that will not make a comic book “restored.” Dry cleaning a comic to remove soiling and any unwanted substance is also considered a non-restorative process, and is included in the CCS pressing service when necessary.