• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Keeping track of your comics
1 1

7 posts in this topic

How do you keep track of the comics you have in your collection? Also, how do you keep track of the comics you want to buy? Do you use an excel spreadsheet? Write your lists down in a notebook? Trying to figure out how to keep myself organized now that I am building up my collection.  Thanks. 

I use Excel for all that.  Easy to sort.  It allows me to easily keep extensive notes on the books I have, when it's necessary, along with a range of potential value (almost all my books are raw).

I try to track current fair market value for the books I know I want to add to my collection.  I have a GPA Analysis subscription which is what I used for FMV, although it's not completely accurate as it doesn't include all sales or probably even most sales.  I try to catch some of the auction pricing for these books as well.  Most use eBay "sold" listings also.

I use Whakoom but I seem to be in a minority of one.

Untitled.thumb.jpg.5a1d6bb7301f4bf00b11dcc37ee127c6.jpg

2.thumb.jpg.daa254c3111dfba2618674ba5cd09666.jpg

Of course it is still a work in progress and I have many more boxes to open yet, but going through my stuff is half the fun. I catalogue what I aim to keep and discard the dreck. My, I'm amazed how much dreck I am uncovering. I once bought a big collection of stuff I didn't really want just to help out a friend who needed a financial boost at the time.

whak.thumb.jpg.dd4fc62b52ccc8db0573fcb661275f47.jpg

Edited by themagicrobot