• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

PGM Sub-Mariner #1
1 1

10 posts in this topic

Hello and thank you in advance for any comments and suggestions.

There is a name and date neatly written in pen on the 1st interior page.  And the book looks like it was made with only one staple.

I am wondering if these 2 issues together take the book to a lower grade than if they were not present?  Also what is the grade of the book as it stands?

Edited by Pukie
I summerized my inquiry specific to the topic of this forum.

Thank you.  I am still learning about GCG labels. I understand the Blue label is preferred.  Is there a way to ask for a Blue label or does a book made with only one staple automatically get a Green Qualified label? Either way there is no impact on grade?  How about market value?

Here are pictures of the staple areas exterior & interior.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

Definitely looks like manufacturing. You'd want the Qualified label here b/c a Universal would be several grades lower (removed staple defect tops out at 6.0), but you don't get to choose anyway. Not all Qualified labels are the same. A clipped Marvel Value Stamp might be more severely viewed than a removed advertising coupon/page/insert. Some people might be OK/not OK with an unverified signature. It would be on a case-by-case basis and depend on the collector/buyer how much they discount or didn't discount the value.

I always grade this book too low.

8.0 Universal

If CGC determines the book was manufactured with only one staple it'll not be counted as a flaw.

lf.thumb.jpeg.7db407a9e199d61fdc738fb6592aef0b.jpeg

If the book is manufactured without staples it will receive the Qualified label.