• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Storage

19 posts in this topic

Hey all,

I'm pretty new to the OA scene. I have four pages, a bunch of large sketches and some comissions. To day I've just been putting them in cheap frames and hanging them in my hall. Aside from the damage to the paper by not using conservation/archival framing foreheadslap.gif , I'm going to need to store these pages for a while off the wall (long story).

Were do I find those portfolios with the transparent pockets that I see most OA for sale in at shows? That would allow me to still take a look / show off the art to select friends while storing them until I can get them up on the wall again?

Many thanks,

Ubie X

Itoyas are awesome, but I hate that DC art boards are just slightly too big to fit in the 11 X 17 models. Of course I found this out after I had filled up a good chunk of my 11 X 17 Itoya with art that actually fit in it, heh.

I bought all my portfolios from Anthony Snyder as his product can store the oversized pages. I also have one 14x19 portfolio to store those oddball pages that are even larger than the norm.

On this topic, has anyone ever seen 11x14 portfolios for sale?

IMO . . .

Buy Mylar and store them in that on a shelf. For your nicer pieces go with a acid free backer board. If you only have a few pieces, get a nicer hard cased portfolio to which the Mylars can sit in.

Unfortunately, unless the artwork is totally clean, there is a chance that it can stick to the "archival" portfolios. All it took was one damaged piece for me to ditch my 10 plus portfolios and go ALL Mylar.

I have found the most affordable place to get them in all sizes is http://www.egerber.com

G'Luck.

Many thanks guys,