• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Newbie Questions

19 posts in this topic

Hey all!!

I just stumbled on these great boards and have picked up a bunch of good info from all the post. Thanks to all the posters.

A quick bit about me. I have been collecting my favorite titles for about 20 years (mostly 1980 - 2000 [embarrassing lack of self control] but I loved them anyhow) but sold off my collection to help pay the bills when a baby popped out three years ago. I did pretty good with e-bay and no-one complained about my books or grading which is strange since I grew up in the VF/NM for all nice looking books.

I recently got my hands on a large (150) stash of early SA books (1958-1962) and have some questions about selling the old books. Most of the set is in Good - Fine condition so I can't see them getting slabbed. Some of the comics have only been slabbed 5-10 times so is it wise to slab rare books in lower grades. I have looked over the recent Overstreet guides (grading & price) and most are in the $15 - $50 range. Is there a good time to end an auction (I have heard late on Sunday night) and has anyone seen a rise in prices just before Christmas (shopping sprees)?

I will post the story of how I got these books if anyone is interested since its a pretty cool story (or at least I think so). Thanks for any info about the best way to sell these cool books.

Are guys waiting for the story?? I think its good but not popcorn good.