• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

How to choose?

10 posts in this topic

Hey Guys. I'm still fairly new to OA and I'm finding I'm having a hard time choosing what to buy. I like everything. It sucks to like everything, cause it's impossible to make a decision. I like new, I like old..I like panels, splashes and covers. I like Marvel, I like DC and I like almost anything in between if it's well done. I guess this wouldn't be as big an issue if I wasn't on such a strict budget, but I am. I truly envy the collectors that have a narrow vision of what they want and collect. Is that a discipline or are you just fortunate not to like everything?

My other problem is choosing to go big or small. Do I collect in greater volume to make my gallery grow or do I go for broke on one at a time? If I go for broke, I'll only be able to buy a piece a few times a year. That'd be tough. I know most collectors go through this when they start, so I thought I'd seek the wisdom of the vet collectors on this board. What to do...I don't know.

I'd love to hear what your opinions are on these things. Maybe even a story or two on how you were able to focus in on something.

Snappa, Like you, I like EVERYTHING also. I just love art. I could go on ebay right now and find at least 10 pieces I'd like to bid on. You'll get the "buy what you like" suggestions later, but I say buy what you read. If I don't read title, I won't buy a page from the title(or at least think about it alot longer). There is SO MUCH good art out there you'l never get it all, so I used the "it's not a title I read" excuse to help me make my decisions(and console myself).

If you don't set guidelines early you'll run out of money even earlier makepoint.gif

Mike