• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Question about scarcity

7 posts in this topic

Here is a question for those with years of experience in the comic book collecting world. Myself, I've been collecting since the late 1980s, but I just started buying Golden Age books a year or so ago. I have been collecting Flash Comics mostly and know that the last few issues are the most scarce. It seems that issues in the 60s are considered scarce, too. My question: Why is it that some of the issues that are considered scarce seem to be easier to find than others? For instance, I have only seen one issue of Flash Comics 35 on sale during the past year, but I've found handfuls of the "scarce" issues. It's the same way with other Flash Comics issues that many dealers do not consider scarce. Why is it that some of the scarce issues are easier to find? Is it because dealers are also looking for those scarce issues more than earlier issues in the series? I'm looking forward to reading discussion on this topic. Thanks in advance for any opinions.

Scott popcorn.gif

Why is it that some of the scarce issues are easier to find? Is it because dealers are also looking for those scarce issues more than earlier issues in the series? I'm looking forward to reading discussion on this topic. Thanks in advance for any opinions.

Scott popcorn.gif

Okay, here's my take on this particular situation.