• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

CGC or Raw

76 posts in this topic

I have been collecting comics, off and on, for over 20 years now. I started collecting CGCs (mostly ASM) about 2 1/2 years ago, basically when I discovered this board.

I recently bought some high grade raw comics, a 9.4 ASM 124 and a 9.6 ASM 238 off the boards and realized something when they arrived: I enjoy raw comics much more than slabs. There is something about being able to hold the comic and I prefer the way they look in a mylar or mylite with a full-back. There is something much more tangible about it. When I receive a book that has been CGCed, I admire it and then stick it in the box. There is less of a connection with it (even when it is my own book that I have slabbed). I am much more likely to go through a box of my raw comics than I am to go through my slabbed collection.

However, I like the officialness of having CGC books and the biggest thing for me is knowing that they will always be in their stated condition. Which probably comes from the fact that my entire UXM run went from NM to F+/VF- because of leaving too much space in the long box. As I move more and more into high grade silvers, the restoration check is also a comfort.

I bought the ASM 124 and 238 to be slabbed and yet I hesitate in sending them off. It is probably the reason why I seem to be putting together two runs of Amazing Spider-Man: One graded and one raw.

What about you? CGC vs. Raw... (shrug)

I too think a raw book in a mylar looks SO much sweeter. (worship)

But with little kids and a cat in the house accidents happen and I am more comfortable with knowing there is a little more protection in case of a mishap.